Free Speech On the Internet: CK Hunter’s Line In the Sand

7.15.2010 By CK Hunter

Copyright CK Hunter 2010-3010, All Rights Reserved. Re-posts must link back to this original post.

Regarding my internet life, about 4 months ago I did a very strange thing. This “strange thing” that I did was so utterly out of character, that it took me aback for more  than a month, and I have pondered it daily since. Before I tell the reader what the “strange thing” I did recently was, you must know something about me.

I have been a dedicated webophile since before such silly words were even “a twinkle in a geek’s inner brain codes”. I was using the internet back in 1994 before the word “internet” was coined. We all refered to the computer networks we used as the “world wide web” back then, the origin of the “WWW” prefix for internet addresses.

In those exciting early years, even progressive bankers in Seattle thought that the “world wide web” was a more or less a collegiate technology playpen and a fluke, nothing that should be given serious thought or investment. Email was still a cute novelty, and Microsoft was too busy wrestling with the latest release of it’s QDOS, it’s “quick and dirty operating system” to be bothered with putting together a web presence.

I had the unique distinction during 1994 and early 1995 of being one of the first women in the United States to begin building web pages for myself and clients, and my first web presence actually pre-dated Microsoft’s web presence by 3 or 4 months.

So suffice it to say, I have lived on and loved the internet since it’s baby days.

So knowing all that, what do you suppose would inspire someone like me to cut off my high speed internet service, scour every blog I author for any telltale reference to my real ID, remove it, remove dozens of geo-identifying photos and photo galleries posted by myself from the web and then to gut my lap top and sell it off on ebay? Internet surveillance.

This was not the threat of internet surveillance – this WAS internet surveillance. Someone, somewhere was not only recording every keystroke I wrote, but making overt efforts to log me off of wordpress, turn off my laptop in mid-sentence, jam my connection to the internet, and make it such that the general process of just using my internet connection, my laptop and writing, researching and posting became almost impossible. These weird activities would always commence every time I tried to post an article or essay that dissented with the Obama White House. It was comical at first, then after 3 or 4 weeks, it was not so funny anymore.

The electronic bizarreness described above had been going on for 3 months before I finally just started praying really hard about what was happening. I decided to dump all traces of my online life, and erase my static IP address forever. I didn’t want to just install software that would flip my IP address every few minutes, nope. I wanted a clean dump – final and complete. After I took the appropriate actions, I did not write or post at all for about a month. I continued to pray, to listen, and to think it all over, long and hard.

This is not the Communist Soviet Union in 1972, or Germany in 1938, or even Cuba in 1962. This is the [so-called] United States of America in 2010. WTF? Is the CIA and other connected secret alphabet orgs [NSA, ATF, DOD, FEMA, NCS et al] actually trying to suppress all the loudest intellectual dissent with the Obama White House in America in 2010? One blinks and rubs the eyes, twitching, incredulous. This cannot be happening.

But it actually WAS happening. I had to finally make a decision about my safety, intellectual and personal privacy.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my country and I am no coward.  I certainly will not flee a necessary truthful confrontation when my soul knows I am right. But I also have no desire to be on the FED’s Big Brother  “secret shit list” for speaking my mind about one of the most incompetent, narcissistic, and inexperienced Presidents in modern times, Barack Obama. My gut tells me that the “secret shit list” they are compiling will not end with his presidency but will carry on for years to come, as Big Gov continues to try to find new ways to “big brotherize” American society along British lines. It’s a very real and current event that is happening and it’s stomach churning.

I eventually solved “the nonstop snooping and surveillance situation” by acquainting myself discreetly with every free public internet portal within a 350 mile radius of my home turf, leisurely frequenting them all in turns as necessary. If this is what it take for me to actually exercise “free speech” online without being tinkered and tampered with, so be it, but it is just one more truthful testimonial that will guarantee Barack Obama’s political doom in 2012.

If  I, like millions of others, was angry and irate with the Obama White House last summer in 2009, then this summer 2010 I am a little more cunning, alot more  incognito, most definitely blogging on the fly. I am  choosing my newest spiritual and political battles carefully, voting out the self centered clueless tax and spend crowd in my home state, NOT marching in the streets with signs, [ that’s a serious no-no if one wants to keep their privacy intact ] NOT assuming that Glenn Beck has all the answers, and talking to God more deeply and attentively than ever. The Holy Spirit makes the most excellent BFF, one that will never betray.

We need politically unaligned independent truth tellers in this country. And we need them desperately. It is the “salt of the earth” soul of the average thinking American man and woman whose voice is now needed most desperately. They are not necessarily democrats or republicans, or tea party people: they are THE PEOPLE- the American voice of reason, spiritual sanity, common sense and solid comprehension that self reveals by their existence and actions why this country was founded in the first place. The voices  that are needed now do not come from pundits, media stars, celebrity newsmen or TV anchors: they come from the hearts and souls of everyday American people. 

I want and need for my voice to be heard, online, offline, in private, and some day, in public. What I don’t want and need is for my every move and keystroke on the internet to be recorded and dissected by the most politically  insecure and  most aggressively over-reaching White House  in modern history.

What the Obama White House is doing to free speech in America is un-American. The fact that I even have to type a sentence like that is “cognitive dissonance defined”.

The math equates with perfect dovetail precision here. The equation regarding the Obama White House goes like this: the more politically off-base, out-of-touch, and precipitously suicidal the decisions of the Obama White House become, the more they take it out on average Americans who actually have thoughts and a voice, by gradually, insidiously grinding down on the the free speech of the thinking voting electorate in all it’s forms. It is an equation that reveals with surgical precision the hidden fears, and masked motives of an unpopular President and his “loose cannon”  trot along cabinet.

“Veer over here, put out that fire, sprint over to Missouri, put out another fire, huff it back to the White House, give Netanyahu some overdue face time to avoid new speculation, fly back down to the gulf oil spill, try to look concerned, eat seafood poignantly with the small people, publicize the latest spin on the recovery and job stats as being a good thing, careen over to the next surging fire and grab a hose.”  – Another day in the life of the Obama Presidency observed.

My Forecast: Barack Obama will definitely be a one term President, unless they have something just outright evil, illegal and Orwellian up their sleeve in the coming 2012 presidential elections. Since a general sense of malaise and incompetence is not actually an impeachable offense, I suppose we are stuck with this gleaming thin cardboard narcissist for another two years. Soul numbing to type the words. My newly fluid IP address is no longer static, but my soul is more certain than ever that we have a man in the White House who bodes ill for our country, whether he means well or not, and at this point, all the name calling, and racist feeble name-calling, and futile racist finger-pointing jabs in the world won’t stop me from speaking my mind about it.

 I would opine that rather than the secret internet surveillance department in the Obama White House being so concerned about recording and monitoring every little ditty that I write, research and post on my blogs, they might consider spending some quality time actually intelligently governing the nation. There’s a novel idea.

The twisted priorities of this current Washington D.C. administration stretch the average person’s believability that they care about the future of the country at all. It more seems as if they care most urgently about the next 10 minute or 48 hours of their perceived poll numbers and whether or not they can win it all again in 2012. Win America’s hearts and minds right here, right now, by doing some urgent things RIGHT, and forget winning the hearts and minds of a backward nation half a world away who’s hiding about 150 Taliban, and making fools of our US military. Win at home, here, now, or there won’t be an America left to win in 2012. It will be too divided, frayed and fractured to be recognizable anymore. As for snooping on me, the recent actions of the Obama White House has absolutely guaranteed that my voice will continue to be heard for years and decades to come.

Chase Kyla Hunter, on the road on America’s western coast, 7.15.2010

See: http://en.blog.wordpress.com/2010/07/01/support-the-first-amendment-with-1-for-all/

Related: Popular post by Joy Victory on WordPress

Posted: Thursday, July 1st, 2010 at 1:16 pm. Filed in WordPress.com.


Email Newsletter

Click to receive future news by email.

Support the First Amendment with 1 for All

by Joy Victory

Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.

Born and raised on the Texas Gulf Coast, I’ve spent the past few months trying to wrap my head around the Deepwater Horizon explosion and subsequent massive oil spill that is now ruining the coastline from Louisiana to Florida. At times, I have to turn off the news, as the images of dying wildlife hit me deep in my gut.

But now more than ever, this national tragedy has made me grateful for the First Amendment to the United States Constitution. While the oil continues to spew, the media — WordPress.com bloggers included — have been on the frontlines, making sure that Americans and everyone the world over know what is really happening in the Gulf of Mexico.

The oil spill has also made me realize how fragile this freedom is — as the Associated Press reported, “journalists covering the Gulf of Mexico oil spill have been yelled at, kicked off public beaches and islands and threatened with arrest …”

Which is why I’m happy to announce that WordPress.com is a proud supporter of the 1 for All campaign that launches today with the simple goal of raising awareness about the First Amendment. We join more than 1,000 media outlets who have partnered with 1 for All, and we have a special connection to the project — their site is hosted on WordPress.com.

Any U.S. resident is welcome to enter their “How Free Can You Be?” contest by submitting photos, videos and stories that illustrate First Amendment liberties. Back here on WordPress.com, please tag any posts you write about this topic with “First Amendment.” And since we know many of you don’t live in the United States, we welcome all readers — regardless of where you live — to discuss civil liberties in your country, as well. Please tag those posts with “human rights.”

This entry was posted in internet censorship, Internet Surveillance, Obama White House and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Sorry. Comments are closed, but feel free to email me.

